The Book Thief Audiobook

The Book Thief Audiobook

What is The Book Thief audiobook about?

The Book Thief audiobook will get under your skin and overwhelm your imagination with vivid images of WWII, Nazi Germany, friendship, and tragedy. Told from the perspective of death, The Book Thief audiobook is a touching novel about Liesel discovering the true value of family and friendship.

The Book Thief audiobook revolves around Liesel, a little girl growing up in Germany during World War II. She lives with her foster parents, Hans and Rosa. Liesel steals a lot of books during the narrative. She doesn’t read or understand at first, but she understands the importance of the book. Hans sees and instructs her on how to decipher the letters.

In The Book Thief audiobook free, Hans and Rosa are not Jewish, but they oppose the Nazi government and secretly hide a Jewish kid, Max, in their basement. When Hans assists a Jew one day, the soldiers beat both Hans and the man he assists. Max is no longer secure in his basement after this incident, so he sends him away. Max presents Liesel with a book he wrote about their friendship and assures her that they will be reunited.

Unfortunately, Max was unable to flee the Nazis. Liesel witnesses him being marched through town on his way to the concentration camp one day. As the battle rages on, Liesel writes her narrative, ‘The Book Thief,’ she names it.

One day, her neighbourhood is bombed, killing Hans, Rosa, and her friend Rudy. Liesel loses her book amid the devastation. After the war is over and the Jews are released, Max returns to locate Liesel, and the two are blissfully reunited. The Book Thief audiobook free concludes with Liesel relocating to Australia, starting a family, and living to a ripe old age.

Who is the author of The Book Thief audiobook?

Markus Zusak wrote The Book Thief.

Markus Zusak was born on June 23rd, 1975. He is a writer from Australia who have both Austrian and German ancestors. He is very-well known for his books such as The Book Thief and I Am the Messenger, both of which were international best-sellers. In 2014, he received the Margaret A. Edwards Award.

He went to Engadine High School and returned there temporarily for teaching English. He earned a Bachelor of Arts and a Diploma of Education from the University of New South Wales, where he studied English and history.

Zusak first three works, The Underdog, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, and When Dogs Cry, were all published internationally from 1999 to 2001. The Messenger, released in 2002, received the CBC Book of the Year Award and NSW Premier’s Literary Award both in 2003, and was a Printz Award runner-up in America.

The Book Thief first published in 2005. It has been published in over 40 other languages. Furthermore, the book received the Kathleen Mitchell Award and the National Jewish Book Award in 2006. Zusak gave a Ted Talk titled “The Failure” at the Opera House in Sydney in 2014. It centred on his creative process and path to success with The Book Thief.

Zusak has spent many years on the New York Times bestseller list, establishing himself as one of Australia’s most successful writers. Moreover, The Book Thief recognised as one of America’s all-time favourite novels in 2018, ranking 14th on the PBS Great American Read. In addition, Bridge of Clay has also named the best book of the year in 2018. Markus Zusak resides in Sydney, Australia with his wife and two children.

Who is the narrator of The Book Thief?

The narrator of The Book Thief is Allan Corduner. Other audiobooks that Allan Corduner has also narrated are Lovely War, Magpie Murders, and Moonflower Murders.

What is the length of The Book Thief?

The length of The Book Thief is 13 hours and 56 minutes.

When was The Book Thief published?

Listening Library published The Book Thief on 09/26/2006.